Definitely Durham Hall of Fame

Definitely Durham is the Durham District School Board's (DDSB) Hall of Fame. DDSB celebrates and showcases the successes of former DDSB students and public education in our community through the Hall of Fame.


Community members, former classmates, neighbours, friends and family members can nominate former DDSB students for the Definitely Durham Hall of Fame.

Nomination forms for the 2021 Definitely Durham induction ceremony will be available in January 2020.

Recent inductees

Read our Definitely Durham Hall of Fame program for more information about our latest inductees.

Gail Elliott

Gail Elliot

After attending Durham College and the University of Toronto for post-secondary studies, Gail became a teacher in 1971. She taught and served as an administrator at several schools including Raglan Public School (PS) and Conant PS, as Vice Principal at Parkside PS and Gertrude Colpus, and as Principal at Claremont PS and Lord Durham PS.

Gail is a former student of Dr. C.F. Cannon PS and Oshawa Collegiate and Vocational Institute.

Larry Jacula

Larry Jacula

Larry was an individual who served his community with pride; first as a student within our system, and later as a teacher and guidance counsellor for more than three decades.

Larry attended O'Neill Collegiate and Vocational Institute and R.S. McLaughlin Collegiate and Vocational Institute.

Nikki Shaffeeullah

Nikki Shaffeeullah

Nikki Shaffeeullah is an artist, facilitator and cultural leader who supports people in telling their own stories. She also facilitates the development of creative communities.

Nikki attended Glen Dhu PS, E.A. Fairman PS and Sinclair Secondary School.

Past recipients

View our list of past Definitely Durham Hall of Fame recipients.