Parent Involvement Committee

The Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) provides the school board with information and advice to help engage parents. The PIC undertakes activities to help parents support their children's learning at home and at school. They also share information with and support School Community Councils (SCC).

The DDSB Parent Involvement Committee Regulation provides guidelines for how the PIC is governed.

Explore the Ontario Ministry of Education Parent Involvement Committee website for more information about the role of PICs. Read through the PIC factsheet and handbook for a detailed explanation of the purpose, membership and activities of PICs.

Joining the Parent Involvement Committee

Each September, PIC vacancies are advertised through the DDSB website, school websites, school newsletters and School Community Councils (SCCs). If you would like to get involved with the PIC, watch for these advertisements.

New members are appointed prior to November 15th of each school year and before the first meeting. PIC members serve a two-year term.


Meetings start at 7:00 p.m. and are held at the DDSB Education Centre located in Whitby at 400 Taunton Rd E. All parents, guardians and community members are welcome to attend our PIC meetings as non-voting members.

Upcoming meetings will be held on:

  • October 16, 2019
  • November 26, 2019
  • February 11, 2020
  • April 14, 2020

Meeting agendas and minutes

Read through past meeting minutes to stay informed:

Committee members

The PIC includes two parent representatives from each geographical area of the board, the Superintendent of Education/Engagement – Parent and Community and a Board Trustee. A balance of elementary and secondary representation is desirable. The board may appoint additional members including community representatives, administrators and teachers.

Committee chairs

  • Roselyn Sagar Lal
  • Tiffany Sherwood

Parent representatives

  • Jennifer McLaughlin, Elementary Parent Representative, Ajax
  • Adriana Fajardo-Chadha, Elementary Parent Representative, Oshawa
  • Michelle Montgomery, Elementary Parent Representative, Pickering
  • Simon Kariuki, Elementary Parent Representative, Whitby
  • Mayline Brown, Elementary Parent Representative, Whitby
  • Valrie Estridge, Secondary Parent Representative, Ajax
  • Patricia Crosbie, Elementary Parent Representative, Oshawa

Staff representatives

  • Heather Mundy, Superintendent of Education/Family of Schools/Engagement – Parent and Community
  • Derek Mereweather, Elementary Teacher Representative
  • Saamah Jadoon, Secondary Teacher Representative
  • Kavita Kanavalli, Secondary Administrator Representative
  • Jason Rodman, Elementary Administrator Representative

Board Trustees

  • Scott Templeton, Trustee, Whitby
  • Donna Edwards, Alternate Trustee, Ajax

Community representatives

  • Mary Hindle, Community Representative from Ajax
  • Tiffany Sherwood, Community Representative from Oshawa