Board of Trustees

School trustees are an important link between school boards and the public. Trustees are elected every 4 years during municipal elections. Their role is to be available to taxpayers, parents and other community members to address any concerns they have with the public school system.

Each December, the trustees hold internal elections to fill individual board positions, including:

  • Board Chairperson
  • Vice Chairperson
  • Vice Chairperson of the Standing Committee
  • Chair of the Education Finance Committee


Trustees hold board and committee meetings regularly throughout the year. Review our board and committee meeting schedule and meeting minutes.

Meet your school trustees

Durham District School Board (DDSB) is governed by 11 school trustees. You can contact each trustee directly by email or call the Office of the Trustees at 905-666-6363.

Trustee School Representation
Township of Ajax, Wards 1 & 2 -  Patrice Barnes

J. Clarke Richardson Collegiate

Pickering High School

Alexander Graham Bell PS

Applecroft PS

da Vinci PS

Dr. Roberta Bondar PS

Eagle Ridge PS

Lester B. Pearson PS

Lincoln Alexander PS

Nottingham PS

Roméo Dallaire PS

Terry Fox PS 

Michaëlle Jean PS

Viola Desmond PS

Vimy Ridge PS

Westney Heights PS 

Township of Ajax, Ward 3 - Donna Edwards

Ajax High School

Bolton C. Falby PS

Cadarackque PS

Carruthers Creek PS

Duffin’s Bay PS

Lakeside PS

Lincoln Avenue PS

Lord Elgin PS

Roland Michener PS

Southwood Park PS

Townships of Brock, Scugog, & Uxbridge - Carolyn Morton

Brock High School

Port Perry High School

Uxbridge Secondary School

Beaverton PS

Cartwright Central PS

Goodwood PS

Greenbank PS

Joseph Gould PS

McCaskill’s Mills PS

Prince Albert PS

Quaker Village PS

R.H. Cornish PS

S.A. Cawker PS                            

Scott Central PS

Sunderland PS

Thorah Central PS

Uxbridge PS

City of Oshawa - Michael Barrett, Darlene Forbes & Linda Stone

Durham Adult & Continuing Education

Durham Alternative Secondary School

Grove School

G.L. Roberts CVI

O’Neill CVI

R.S. McLaughlin CVI

Adelaide McLaughlin PS

Beau Valley PS            

Bobby Orr PS                               

Clara Hughes PS

College Hill PS

Coronation PS

David Bouchard PS

Dr. C.F. Cannon PS

Dr. S.J. Phillips PS

Eastdale CVI

Elsie MacGill P.S.

Forest View P.S.

Glen Street PS

Gordon B. Attersley PS

Harmony Heights PS

Hillsdale PS

Jeanne Sauvé PS

Kedron PS

Lakewoods PS

Mary St. Community School

Maxwell Heights SS

Norman G. Powers PS

Northern Dancer PS

Pierre Elliott Trudeau PS

Queen Elizabeth PS

Seneca Trail PS

Sherwood PS

Stephen G. Saywell PS

Sunset Heights PS

Village Union PS

Vincent Massey PS

Walter E. Harris PS

Waverly PS

Woodcrest PS                

City of Pickering - Chris Braney & Paul Crawford

Dunbarton High School

Pine Ridge Secondary School

Altona Forest PS

Bayview Heights PS

Claremont PS

Elizabeth B. Phin PS

Fairport Beach PS

Frenchman’s Bay PS

Gandatsetiagon PS

Glengrove PS

Highbush PS

Maple Ridge PS

Rosebank Road PS

Sir J.A. Macdonald PS

Valley Farm PS

Valley View PS

Vaughan Willard PS

Westcreek PS

William Dunbar PS

Township of Whitby - Niki Lundquist, Scott Templeton & Christine Thatcher

Anderson CVI

Brooklin High School

Donald A. Wilson Secondary School

Henry Street High School

Sinclair Secondary School

Bellwood PS

Blair Ridge PS

Brooklin Village PS

C.E. Broughton PS

Captain Michael VandenBos PS

Chris Hadfield PS

Col. J.E. Farewell PS

Dr. R. Thornton PS

E.A. Fairman PS

Fallingbrook PS

Glen Dhu PS

Jack Miner PS

John Dryden PS

Julie Payette PS

Meadowcrest PS

Ormiston PS

Pringle Creek PS

Robert Munsch PS

Sir Samuel Steele PS

Sir William Stephenson PS

West Lynde PS

Whitby Shores PS

Williamsburg PS

Winchester PS

Committee Membership - Trustee Representatives
DDSB Trustee Committee Membership 2022
Trustee Expenses

Trustee expense summaries outlining each Trustee’s total spending amount are posted on a quarterly basis on the Trustee Expenses Page. This disclosure includes those of the Chair and Vice-Chair.

Trustee Carolyn Morton
Carolyn Morton

Chairperson of the Board
Townships of Brock, Scugog, Uxbridge

Email Carolyn

Trustee Expenses

Vice Chairperson of Standing Committee, Trustee, Christine Thatcher
Christine Thatcher

Vice Chairperson of the Board 
Township of Whitby
Email Christine

Trustee Expenses

Trustee, Patrice Barnes
Patrice Barnes

Vice Chairperson of the Standing Committee, Trustee
Town of Ajax Wards 1 and 2
Email Patrice

Trustee Expenses

Trustee, Michael Barrett
Michael Barrett

City of Oshawa
Email Michael

Trustee Expenses 

Chairperson Trustee, Chris Braney
Chris Braney

City of Pickering
Email Chris

Trustee Expenses 


Trustee, Paul Crawford
Paul Crawford

City of Pickering
Email Paul

Trustee Expenses 

Trustee Donna Edwards
Donna Edwards

Chairperson Education Finance, Trustee
Town of Ajax, Ward 3
Email Donna

Trustee Expenses 

Chairperson Education Finance, Trustee, Darlene Forbes
Darlene Forbes

City of Oshawa
Email Darlene

Trustee Expenses 

Vice Chairperson Trustee, Niki Lundquist
Niki Lundquist

Township of Whitby
Email Niki

Trustee Expenses

headshot of Trustee Linda Stone on grey background
Linda Stone

City of Oshawa
Email Linda

Trustee Expenses 

Trustee Scott Templeton
Scott Templeton

Township of Whitby
Email Scott

Trustee Expenses

Student trustees

In addition to the publicly elected trustees, 3 student trustees are elected from among the DDSB student body.

headshot of Student Trustee Kayla Malcolm on grey background
Kayla Malcolm

Kayla Malcolm 
Student Trustee
Ajax and Pickering

email Kayla

headshot of student trustee James Kay on grey background
James Kay

James Kay
Student Trustee
Brock, Scugog and Uxbridge

email James

headshot of Student Trustee de Mario Knowles
De-Mario Knowles

De-Mario Knowles
Student Trustee
Oshawa and Whitby

email De-Mario