Durham District School Board (DDSB) committees include:

  • Parent Involvement Committee (PIC)
  • Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)
  • Audit Committee

Parent Involvement Committee (PIC)

PIC is comprised of parent representatives, trustees, school and Board staff throughout the DDSB.

View the following resources to learn more about PIC:

  • PIC brochure
  • PIC handbook
  • PIC facts sheet
  • Ontario College of Teachers website


    Registration for PIC meetings is required. PIC meetings are held at the DDSB Education Centre,
    400 Taunton Rd. E., Whitby at 7:00 p.m.

    Committee members
    • Roselyn Sagar Lal, Co-Chair, Parent Representative
    • Tiffany Shewood, Co-Chair, Parent Representative
    • Jennifer McLaughlin, Elementary Parent Representative, Ajax
    • Valrie Estridge, Elementary Parent Representative, Ajax
    • Adriana Fajardo-Chadha, Elementary Parent Representative, Oshawa
    • Patricia Crosbie, Elementary Parent Representative, Oshawa
    • Michelle Montgomery, Elementary Parent Representative, Pickering
    • Simon Kariuki, Elementary Parent Representative, Whitby
    • Mayline Brown, Elementary Parent Representative, Whitby
    • Heather Mundy, Superintendent—Engagement, Parents and Community
    • Jason Rodman, Elementary School Administrator Representative
    • Derek Mereweather, Elementary Teacher Representative
    • Saamah Jadoon, Secondary Teacher Representative
    • Kavita Kanavalli, Secondary Teacher Representative
    • Scott Templeton, Trustee—Town of Whitby
    • Donna Edwards (alternate), Trustee—Town of Ajax
    • Nigel Hunter, Community Representative, Ajax
    • Mary Hindle, Community Representative, Ajax

    To request archived minutes and agendas, please contact PIC.



    To request archived minutes and agendas, please contact PIC.


School Community Councils

School Community Councils (SCC's) have always been a vital part of our school communities, providing strong links between home and school to create a positive learning environment for students.

Join your local School Community Council by contacting your local school.

Regional SCC meetings are conducted throug​hout the year to provide SCC members an opportunity to attend workshops and exchange ideas.

Regional SCC Meetings
  • October 29, 2019
  • February 25, 2020

Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

SEAC helps the Board protect the rights of students with special learning needs. It provides advice, support and information to parents and guardians of students who require extra support. It is comprised of representatives from local parent associations that make recommendations to the Board on the development of special education programs and services.

View the SEAC brochure, the SEAC handbook or contact your SEAC for help or information.


All parents and interested members of the public can attend SEAC meetings. We meet at the DDSB Education Centre, 400 Taunton Rd. E., Whitby at 6:30 p.m., the 3rd Thursday of the month.

SEAC meetings follow this formal format:

  • Review of minutes
  • Presentations
  • Current issues and initiatives in Special Education
  • Committee reports by members (Board reports, trustees, staff)
  • Correspondence and questions

Committee members

  • Eva Kyriakides, SEAC Chair – Association for Bright Children (ABC)
  • Craig Cameron, Member at Large
  • Carolyn McLennon, Member at Large
  • Donna Edwards, Trustee – Town of Ajax
  • Christine Thatcher, Trustee – Town of Whitby
  • Claudine Burrell, Autism Ontario – Durham Chapter
  • Tara Culley, Durham Down Syndrome Association
  • Hanah Nguyen, Easter Seals Ontario
  • Rowin Jarvis, Learning Disabilities Association of Durham Region
  • Elizabeth Daniel, Ontario Association for Families of Children with Communication Disorders (OAFCCD)
  • Kathy Kedey, VOICE for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children



To request archived minutes and agendas, please contact SEAC.

Audit Committee

The term of office for Board members is one year, and for non-board members it is three years. The terms of reference are set out in Ontario Regulation 361/10. Committee members are reimbursed for out-of-pocket travel to meetings and training sessions at Board-approved rates.