Parent Involvement Committee

The Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) provides the school board with information and advice to help engage parents. The PIC undertakes activities to help parents support their children's learning at home and at school. They also share information with and support School Community Councils (SCC).

The DDSB Parent Involvement Committee Regulation provides guidelines for how the PIC is governed.

Explore the Ontario Ministry of Education Parent Involvement Committee website for more information about the role of PICs. Read through the PIC factsheet and handbook for a detailed explanation of the purpose, membership and activities of PICs.

Joining the Parent Involvement Committee

The Parent Involvement Committee’s (PIC) primary role is to support, encourage and enhance parent engagement at the board level to improve student achievement and well-being.  This purpose is achieved primarily by providing advice on parent engagement to the board, communicating with and supporting school community councils and undertaking activities to help parents support their children’s learning at home and at school.

The PIC is currently looking for new members to join its team for the 2024-2025 school year.  Find out more information about applying today!

The Parent Involvement Committee is comprised of parents/guardians, community representatives and staff representatives. This video shares the voices of our Parent Involvement Committee Members.

Volunteer Opportunities

Each September, PIC vacancies are advertised through the DDSB website, school websites, school newsletters and School Community Councils (SCCs).

New members are appointed prior to November 15th of each school year and before the first meeting. PIC members serve a two-year term.

Resources to learn more about PIC:

2024 Parent Engagement Series

February 7, 2024:  Parenting in the Age of Social Media

Today’s children and youth are growing up in an increasingly digital world. This reality is changing the experience of childhood and youth in significant ways, which is changing some aspects of parenting along with it. Parenting in the Age of Social Media addresses a variety of new considerations for parents and caregivers while offering suggestions for keeping kids safe, responsible and ethical as they navigate online spaces.

View the presentation on Parenting in the Age of Social Media

Parent Involvement Committee


View the Parent Involvement Committee meetings calendar for meeting agendas and minutes.

Meetings start at 6:30 p.m. and will be held virtually for the 2023-2024 school year.

All parents, guardians and community members are welcome to attend our PIC meetings as non-voting members.

Registration for PIC meetings is required. 

Meetings for the 2023-2024 school year will be held on:

  • October 18, 2023

  • November 15, 2023

  • February 21, 2024

  • May 22, 2024

Committee members

The PIC includes two parent representatives from each geographical area of the board, the Superintendent of Education/Engagement – Parent and Community and a Board Trustee. A balance of elementary and secondary representation is desirable. The board may appoint additional members including community representatives, administrators and teachers.

Committee Chairs
  • Huma Choudary, Co-Chair, Parent Representative
  • Peter Ackie, Co-Chair, Parent Representative
Parent Representatives
  • Nigel Hunter, Elementary Parent Representative, Ajax
  • Arun Raj, Secondary Parent Representative, Ajax 
  • Gurleen Saggu, Elementary Parent Representative, Oshawa
  • Arshi Ali, Secondary Parent Representative, Oshawa 
  • Waseem Ali, Elementary Parent Representative, Pickering
  • Vacant, Secondary Parent Representative, Pickering 
  • Tarun Chaudhary, Elementary Parent Representative, Whitby
  • Barry Bedford, Secondary Parent Representative, Whitby 
  • Shirley Ostertag, Elementary Parent Representative, North
  • Lori Dunn, Secondary Parent Representative, North
SEAC Representative
  • SensaRAneb Burrell
Staff Representatives
  • Kandis Thompson, Superintendent of Education/Family of Schools/Family and Community Engagement
  • Nadia Nembhard-Hunt, Elementary Administrator Representative
  • Mitzi Hussett, Elementary Teacher Representative
  • Tara Bryan, Secondary Administrator Representative
  • Nadia Baby, Secondary Teacher Representative
  • Patrick Symister, Centrally Assigned Staff
Trustee Representative
  • Stephen Linton, Trustee

Read through past meeting minutes to stay informed:

Parent Involvement Committee Meetings Calendar - Agendas and Minutes

To request archived minutes or agendas, please contact the PIC.

Supporting Parents as Partners in Education e-Newsletters


Additional Resources